back to home page 

The Société Royale des Sciences de Liège was founded in 1835 by a group of university professors and scholars from Liège (Belgium).

Today the Society has a membership of about 100 effective members (list) and more than 120 corresponding members from Belgian and internationla institutions (list). There are at least three meetings per year, including the General Assembly usually held in January or February, where modifications to the statutes can be approved. 


Members of the governing board :

Guy Munhoven, President
Françoise Bastin, Vice-President
Philippe Maesen, General Secretary
Jean Schmets, Treasurer
Georges Lognay, Scientific Editor of the Bulletin
Jacques Delwiche, Editor

A list of past Presidents and General secretaries is available here   .


Contact address and email:

Société Royale des Sciences de Liège
Institut de Mathématique de l'Université de Liège,
Bât. B37, Quartier Polytech 1
Allée de la Découverte 12
4000 Liège
Courriels :

updated on 2/29/24

Share this page